The In-Between Place

I’m sitting here with my Dad, watching him as he naps, which he does often these days. I watch him breathing, his chest rising and falling and wonder if he dreams of her; my mother who is no longer with us.

He wakes and asks “Where is your mother going?” In that moment I recognize the reality of the in-between place where Love lives forever. And I am grateful that I can see through the doors – the door to where my Mom is and the door to where my Dad is. And for the in-between place that is the bridge between the two, connecting the gap. As I sit here in-between, I feel my mother here with my dad and know that his question, “Where is your mother going?” is as real as any question that could be asked. He sees her, as I do too. Grateful for eyes of the heart that can see the miracle of this connection.

© Daanika 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Leave a Reply

